Cape Breton Mi'kmaq Communities

Cape Breton Island is home to five Aboriginal communities – Wagmatcook, Waycobah, Chapel Island, Eskasoni and Membertou. These communities are proud to be a living culture, where the language and traditions of the people’s ancestors continue to influence life today.

Plan to visit each community on your journey throughout the Island. Annual Pow Wows and other cultural events will inspire you…drumming, dancing, traditional feasts and storytelling bringing you back to a simpler time. Modern business communities will ensure you have everything you need for your travels.